A complete stranger’s tribute to Judge Lewis Makame

About four weeks ago at the reception of one hospital in the peninsula, I saw a familiar looking senior citizen. He had a humble demeanor and seemed like one of those “golden boys,” my teacher once told me about – the kind of men that should be in charge because they possess the wits and charisma to lead society towards progress, according to him.

So naturally I was really tempted to speak to him and eventually I gave in. I approached the man, said “Shikamoo” and asked him if he was the retired Chief Justice, Samatta, the only name that came to mind. He smiled and said “No I am not, but people say we look alike. I am Lewis Makame.” So, actually he was the retired judge, and first chairman of TZ multi-party electoral commission.

I was really excited to talk to him. I pointed out, that during the time when sons and daughters of makabwelas went to school with children of judges, diplomats and ministers, I had attended remedial classes (tuition) at my school, Kisarawe Primary School with his children who went to another public school. He also smiled and pointed me to a gentleman sitting at the hospital coffee shop. “That is Junior!” I could hardly recognize the man, who turned out to be one of the children.

I was curious about his much decorated law career, and wanted to know if he had written any book. He said, “Well, there are quite a lot of legal documents I have authored, but you should know that the law was not my first love. Economics was!”

I was quite amazed to learn this, especially because he seemed to recollect “the loss”, much like a man who failed to marry his one true love. This man had served as Barrister-At-Law in England and Wales back in the 1960s, and was Justice of Appeal Court of Tanzania as well as the Chairman of the Electoral Commissions Forum of SADC Countries; and yet he remembered — and obviously missed — fondly, a career he was not famous or successful for.

And yet again, I learnt a life lesson, about dreams and things that really matter in life.

He was also eager to learn what I do, and so I told him a bit about myself, which he quite appreciated

On that day, Justice Lewis looked unwell, and his body a little tired, although his mind and spirit seemed very much pristine; And so, much as I loved to hear more, I felt I had to keep our conversation brief. I thanked him, and said goodbye; alas! I knew not, that I would never see him again.

I thank God for the life of Justice Makame, and for that little encounter that has left me inspired in many ways.

Give your thoughts..karibu!